Auntie Flo’s Totopos

Auntie Flo's kitchen is an open-air arrangement adjacent to our patio, also know as my office.

Auntie Flo’s kitchen is an open-air arrangement adjacent to our garden spot, also know as my office.

We usually save the food photos for Facebook. However, this just seemed too good to pass up. When I saw Florence frying up the remainder of our fresh corn tortillas to make our own corn chips, I just wanted to share this.

A new batch of totopos fresh from the pan

A new batch of totopos fresh from the pan

I really wanted to title this article “Tía Flo’s Totopos” just for the alliteration. However, I didn’t because many people don’t know what tía means and even fewer know what totopos are, although by now you probably have figured out they are tortilla chips. And considering how many nieces and nephews Florence has, she has always been Auntie Flo.

Corn tortillas fresh from the conveyor belt at the local supermarket cost about $1.00 for about three dozen. The two of us cannot possibly eat that many tortillas while they are still fresh, so we make our own totopos. Lightly salted they are quite tasty.

There really is such a thing as a Margarita-in-a-can.

There really is such a thing as a Margarita-in-a-can.

Add some hot, fresh refried beans and locally made fresh salsa and you have the perfect sunny afternoon snack to tide you over until dinner. Some, like me, might wish a cold beer to round out the perfect snack food. Florence is partial to the Margarita-in-a-can. BYOS – Bring Your Own Salt.

This is all part of our effort to explore and better appreciate the cultures of the places we visit. And it will make a great Super Bowl snack.

living in Panama
Food & Drink Blogs
Food & Drink

28 comments on “Auntie Flo’s Totopos

  1. Oh my gosh. I need to show my husband the “margarita in a can.” He’ll flip. Great post and enjoying snooping around your blog! 😀

    • Haha – Margaritas from the can taste a little like Squirt and they are carbonated. They are refreshing and you can get a buzz (5.8% alcohol) and they are cheap, about 85 cents. They are no substitute for the real thing, but they are convenient. Thanks for commenting. Salud!

  2. First, I would have gone with Tia Flo’s Totopos, (even though I like the title you used)… I really think that readers are drawn to titles that confuse or intrigue them. Let them come, and then teach them what it means! It’s all about Mexico, right? Then, I must point out that the food in your posts is driving me wild. I would weigh a ton, snacking on this stuff, but I could not resist! You have me wanting to run to the market and buy some corn tortillas to fry! Even though I know they won’t taste half as good as Tia Flo’s homemade ones! Ay Dios Mio!

    • Ha ha, great comments. You are right, of course – I should have gone with the title, Tia Flo’s Totopos. If you really like the food photos, check out Florence’s photo albums on Facebook at Lince’s Leisure Vacations. But be warned! The dessert dishes seem to be her favorite shots. My favorite was the Key Lime Pie in Valdivia, Chile!

  3. mkesling63 says:

    This is definitely one of my favorites. Blended margs too.

  4. Miss. D says:

    Beautiful! I haven’t yet explored your blog but I will now. I’m living near Vancouver presently but spent a good chunk of time near Esquinapa, in Sinaloa. The picture of the chips really made my mouth water!! Its been too long 🙂 Good share!!

    • I love Vancouver (and Whistler). I look forward to spending several days in B.C. this summer.
      Acapulco is the closest beach town to us in Cuernavaca. Although we are not what you would call ‘beach people,’ I hope to explore there before we move on. Living abroad is so different from traveling. It’s easy to just settle in instead of exploring beyond our immediate area. That does allow more time for writing, though. 🙂 Thank you for your comments.

  5. mkesling63 says:

    There is a certificate of appreciation for you on my blog under awards

  6. reocochran says:

    I enjoyed this so much!

  7. donna says:

    I can’t get past the beautiful gleaming tile floor to read the post! I want this in my house, I’ve always wanted it but never had a good picture to show my husband. NOW I do! Thank you!!

    I did read your entry, btw. Aaaand, I’m hungry and thirsty. Cannot drink beer at 6 am though 🙂

    • ha ha – Thank you for the humorous comments. People we might think of as poor have tile floors. (The real poor have cement or dirt floors.) The more well-to-do tile even their driveways, often with amazing custom patterns. And it is easy to clean.

  8. Loca Gringa says:

    Makin’ me hungry 🙂

  9. dpshigley says:

    What a great post! Fresh tortilla chips are so much better than the packaged stuff right?! Super cool blog and thanks so much for stopping by Deb’s Kitchen 🙂

  10. i love this post, and i am amazed at the margarita in the can at 85 cents! wow!
    tequila is horribly expensive here with a steep tax on imports. i think cuervo is 35 dollars a bottle! five or so years ago it was steady at 18 to 20.
    enjoy your privilege of living in tequila country!

    • OMG – $35/bottle? You would have to barter a painting to afford that! (I paid $10 for a quart bottle.) I think we should choose to live in countries based on their national drink. (Scotland is next!) 🙂

      • that’s a great suggestion, to live where the national drink is what one enjoys! i can buy pisco for ten dollars, the cheap variety, but it makes great ‘piscoritas, especially when maracuya/passion fruit is used.. add some mint, and wow, there’s a great international mix of a cocktail!

        wines from chile and argentina are always found at fair prices, so we adapt, but my, i miss my beloved tequila!

  11. Such exotic cuisine! Jealous, very jealous

  12. […] (avocados), and thank goodness! Fresh avocado on salads, with rice and beans, fresh guacamole with totopos, or just eating it out of the peel with a spoon is so […]

Leave a Reply

