Appreciation and Recognition – The Liebster Award

Wow - twice in one week!

Wow – twice in one week!

This past week I received the Liebster Award – twice! The award is given by fellow bloggers who believe the recipient deserves encouragement to continue with a promising line of work. Liebster in German means sweetest, kindest, most beloved, endearing and other nice stuff. My three obligations in accepting the award are 1) acknowledgement, 2) pass it forward, and 3) reveal some personal stuff.

My thanks to both writers who acknowledged me with the Liebster. I have been following Tales from the Motherland since Dawn began a series about last year’s family vacation in Peru with Peru or Bust. We were living in Panama and we had recently returned from four months in Latin America, which was my Vacation of a Lifetime, and Peru was not on our itinerary. We had entertained thoughts of moving to South America, so I loved reading stories of travel to many of the exotic places we missed. I learned a lot more than stories of Peru. Dawn reveals love, commitment, anguish, loss, and hope through her passion-filled writing. It was her courage in sharing her personal side that captivated me, and I have been a fan ever since. We also share a common bond of love for the Pacific Northwest.

I love perusing food blogs, and I stumbled upon Another Bite of the Cherry. Holliday shares her recipes and restaurant dining stories from across the pond. While she does not reveal her home country on her About page, it is not a mystery when she mentions her home in Devon and a £60 dinner in Bristol. Holliday is even newer at this blogging business than I am, so I encourage her to keep writing as so many followers have done for me.

The following bloggers, in alphabetical order are my nominees to receive this award:
Aja’s Northwest Life – Aja is a relatively recent transplant to my home town of Seattle. Her photography brings fresh reminders of favorite places I have visited – Leavenworth, Rattlesnake Butte, Willamette Valley, Oregon Coast, and Seattle’s amazing array of public parks. And yet her food posts were how I discovered her blog. Did I mention I love food blogs?
Around the World with Steve – This gentleman’s epic journey around the world is underway as I post this. As a traveler myself, I love hearing of his adventures from exotic locations. As a solo traveler, Steve’s stories include a unique perspective of meeting interesting people and making new friends.
From Seattle to Cairo: Letters from a Traveling Mom – A traveler, from Seattle. Those connections would be enough. When you add the hilarity of her well-crafted real-life stories, I think you will be hooked, too.
Honk if You’re Vegan – I think I mentioned liking food blogs. Celeste offers great recipes mixed with a sense of humor that makes eating healthy easier, and reading about food fun and inspiring.
Even though I am not vegan, my wife and I both enjoy vegan options, and many of these recipes are now in our repertoire.
I’ve Got Some ‘Spaining To Do – I plan to live in Spain next year. The connection is clear. This delightful young traveler is already living there with her husband. The more I read about Spain, the more excited I get!
Tried & Tested Kid-friendly Recipes – This is a fun site, and photos of this cheery, English mum’s little ones creating in the kitchen remind me of how much fun I have in the kitchen with my grandson. I bookmarked her blog site for quick reference for when I visit the kids. (Any time I want to put on the apron is just fine with my daughter.)
Waves and Ruins – This young couple is currently trekking from their California home to Argentina over a seven month stretch in search of surfing venues and adventure. They are writing about their adventure as it unfolds. I love reading about their discoveries which will include some of the places we recently visited.
Witless Dating After Fifty by reocochran – Her posts are fun, insightful, and thought-provoking. If you are a woman, you can relate. If you are a man, you will be wishing you could get a date with this lovely woman. Since I am no longer in the market, I hope the right man comes along and sweeps her off her feet.

Answers to random questions about me:
1. What makes you laugh?
I laugh at wry humor, clever double entendres, and the chance witty comment my wife makes in everyday situations.
2. What did you eat for dinner today?
I had a typical Mexican dinner – chicken, rice and refried beans (with plenty of diced jalapeños), and fresh fruit for dessert.
3. What food could you not live without?
I love avocados and jalapeño peppers. However, after six months in Panama I found I mostly missed good cheese. (Mexico has plenty of good cheese.)
4. If you could have dinner with one other person, who would it be?
For ‘Star Power’ I would choose to dine with President Obama or even First Lady, Michelle Obama. For fun I would choose to dine with my favorite comedian, Lewis Black (see below).
5. What is the most disgusting meal you have ever eaten?
I will never forget eating tripe boiled in pig’s blood at a Philippine dinner when I was 14. I did not know what it was, but it looked okay. The only reason I swallowed, succeeding on the third try, was because I was sitting next to a pretty girl.
6. Daytime or nighttime?
Daytime, unless there is night skiing.
7. How long have you been blogging?
I posted my first blog on August 21, 2012. This is my 41st post. (I usually know what my second and third post from now will be. I just do not always know what my next post will be.)
8. For one million pounds sterling, would you run round your place of work with no clothes on?
Heck, even if I said no, if my wife found out I received an offer like that she would tear my clothes off and send me on the obligatory jog.
9. Tea or coffee?
I am from Seattle, and I lived in the highlands of Panama. Duh…coffee!
10. How many chucks does a woodchuck chuck?
Seriously, nobody cares.
11. What is your claim to fame?
My wife and I are Six Monthers. We came up with this concept ourselves by formalizing our lifestyle of moving to a different country every six months. So far we have landed in Panama and Mexico. Scotland and Spain are next on our list. I hope more people are inspired by our example because I think we would all do a much better job of getting along if we knew one another better.

17 comments on “Appreciation and Recognition – The Liebster Award

  1. reocochran says:

    Thank you so much for including me on the list! I just was nominated for the Liebster Bloggers Award a week ago! So, I am definitely double honored and so lucky that you find my stories entertaining. I like my early ones about my grandparents and my great grandparents. I think they are titled, “Love European Style” and “Love American Style.” Also, my best friends who I matchmade (and he was a total stranger!!) are in the story “Love Found in a Video Store.” You believe in love and that is so wonderful! Your story put in my comments section was lovely!

  2. Madame Rashid says:

    Congratulations, Mike! Twice in one week?! That’s wonderful. Thank you for nominating me. I don’t think I’ve ever been nominated for anything. Well, that’s not true, I’m nominated every day to do the laundry and cooking, LOL. Thank you 🙂

  3. Congratulations – what an honor for you! Of course, I couldn’t agree more that you deserve it – I love your blog! I’m also touched, really touched, that you nominated me to receive this award. Thank you so much – I really appreciate it. Oh, and I enjoyed reading the answers to all those random questions. I’m with you on some of them like dinner with President Obama, day time, coffee and who cares about how many chucks a woodchuck chucks. I definitely didn’t have what you had for dinner last night, however:-).

  4. Alison says:

    Congratulations! Very well deserved 🙂
    Looking forward to reading your next post!

  5. blade3colorado says:

    Mike, again thank you (I did the same on my blog) for nominating me. I love your blog and it’s no wonder to me that you were nominated twice this week. I also like what you said about having 2-3 posts in your mind prior to publishing them, i.e., I do too and usually the determining factor is: 1. Do I have WIFI; 2. If I do have WIFI, is it sufficiently good reception, where I can post photos; and, 3. How tired am I during the evening, from whatever adventure I had that day.

    As others have noted, I look forward to reading your next blog post. 🙂

  6. annewoodman says:

    Congratulations, Mike! I love jalapenos and avocados, too. Yum! And great cheese.

    Great to read your posts again.

  7. Congrats on your award! I am also a Pacific Northwest native and I hope to get back there again soon! I do move often but not every 6 months. That is quite a claim to fame! Have a great day!

  8. Congrats on your award. One day I hope to have the chance to live in many countries too. Enjoy Spain….one of my favourite places.

  9. AmyS says:

    Congrats on the award!

  10. heffegavel says:

    Thanks for stopping by and liking my recent poem … your dedication to travel is inspiring … my wife and I do a similar thing but only state bound thus far and we usually stay a year good luck in your adventures

Leave a Reply

