Finishing Touches

Me helping with chores

Mike helping with the chores

Our Six Monther lifestyle keeps us moving, and although the pace of our lives has not seemed demanding, we have visited sixteen countries in the past two years. We have settled into a more relaxed lifestyle, and we keep moving due to the fact we are of a certain age and we are compelled to see what we can of the world while we are healthy enough to pursue our travel dreams.

This next leg of our journey will differ considerably from our time in the Western Hemisphere as we head across the pond to Europe. Return trips to the states to visit family and friends will be more taxing than trips from Mexico, and with our anticipated Italian dual citizenship, we could find ourselves living somewhere in the EU for an extended period of time, in which case we are saying goodbye to some places in the United States we expect to never see again.

Family heirloom oak table refinished

Family heirloom oak table refinished

These kites were hard to part with.

These kites were hard to part with.

Like everyone who has gone through the downsizing process, we have been clinging to a few remaining items. We donated a few special books and some artwork that used to adorn our walls. And there are my stunt kites that I always took to the ocean beach or the desert where there are no overhead wires or tree branches. These kites came in handy when I was teaching my wife how to fly them during the get-to-know-you phase of our relationship with my arms wrapped around her in order to provide instructive guidance. As difficult as it was to part with my skis and boots, I never thought I flew the kites enough to be as attached to them as I apparently am. Do I donate them to Goodwill? We will see.

The garage before and after a couple trips to Goodwill.

The garage before and after a couple trips to Goodwill.

I am now working on the honey-do list, which includes cleaning out her parents’ garage. And while they were out of town, I refinished their oak dining table. I had never refinished furniture, and this table has been in the family for fifty years. Thus, I felt some pressure not to screw it up. Fortunately, the online instructions were quite thorough, and the finished product came out great.

Putting my library card to good use

One last use of my library card

My library card is still good, so I checked out a couple of good books, and we are catching up on reruns of some favorite television shows that we could not stream on our computers from outside the United States. However, we are just marking time. After a couple weeks of relaxation we are getting antsy. We are just putting the finishing touches on a few domestic chores. It is time to move on. I miss traveling and writing about new experiences.  We will be in Scotland soon, and I look forward to being on the road once again and sharing our stories from abroad.

14 comments on “Finishing Touches

  1. It’ll be interesting to see how life across The Pond works out for you. I’ll be here eating up every word you post.

    Toby

  2. You did a great job on that garage! If you’re feeling really antsy, our garage needs a bit of a clean up. Seriously, it sounds like you guys are ready to go. It won’t be long now – just a blink of the eye. Celeste 🙂

    • Mike Lince says:

      As you can see, Celeste, one of my favorite places is in the recliner. Imagine my wife’s motivational skills to get me off my butt to clean the garage! Clearly, we need to keep moving so I don’t get too comfortable in one place. 🙂 – Mike

  3. reocochran says:

    The time you spent here was very valuable! The chores were just part of the whole rejuvenating and getting ready for the next leg of your journey! I find that refinishing furniture and straightening up helps me to feel de-stressed. Great job on both, by the way! Are the kites able to go to your grandson’s home for when he grows older?

    • You are right about recharging our batteries and gearing up for the next phase of our travels. We are ready to get going again. And after I posted this story, I did find a home for the kites with my grandson. He even lives near a park without overhead wires and tree branches. I look forward to teaching him how to fly them someday once he is big enough to not get pulled off his feet by the drag.

  4. AmyAdelante says:

    You think Europe is a long way, try Australia! 😉
    Safe travels and hope you settle in well over there. Looking forward to hearing the latest.

    • Mike Lince says:

      You make a good point! And we will definitely try Australia, although it will probably be from Eastern Europe or Southeast Asia. The more we learn about Australia, the more we realize we have a great adventure to look forward to.

  5. nantubre says:

    Blessings to you on your journey. I am SO looking forward to your next posts!

  6. Hi Mike, This is exciting! I know how hard it is to part with those last special things. We took lots of photos of the items, and decided that we could probably buy replicas in our new destination if we really wanted to. Don’t know if you’ve discovered Tom and Louise’s blog Expat Almanac, but they recently talked about streaming Netflix in Europe using a VPN (Virtual Private Network). It was new technology to us, but way cool. Here’s the link. http://expat-almanac.com/2013/05/27/geeky-good-things/. Wishing you all the best on your upcoming adventure, Terri

    • Of all the possessions I gave up, my sporting gear was the hardest to part with. Lots of memories tied up in skiing and hiking gear. My grandsons will get the kites which is a good thing. I will add that the one thing I have missed most living abroad is good cutlery. I have always valued good knives. It makes working in the kitchen much easier, but we do not pack knives with us.

      Thank you for the VPN idea. I can see the value of that during the colder months when the days are shorter, especially since Florence is not a skier. Her idea of a ski trip is a good book next to a blazing fire with hot coffee while I am outside having all the fun. – Mike

  7. reocochran says:

    I just read your reply about Florence, I could join her back at the skiing lodge with either a hot coffee, cocoa or even an Irish coffee with a little kick in it. I will bring books in my luggage to share… you never know, wilder things have happened before! Take care and safe travel mercies wished for you each part of the trip!

    • Mike Lince says:

      I look forward to kicking off my ski boots knowing Florence is waiting by the fireplace in the lodge. And I think many of my ski buddies would look forward to your company in the ski lodge after a day on the slopes, too. 😉
      Thank you for the kind thoughts. My eagerness is building for the next big adventure abroad… coming soon! – Mike

Leave a Reply

