The Perth Saturday Market

Vendors set up awning covered booths for the Saturday Market.  Hundreds of people flock to King Edward Street to create a fair-like atmosphere.

Vendors set up awning covered booths for the Saturday Market. Hundreds of people flock to King Edward Street to contribute to a fair-like atmosphere.

Vendors from around the region set up booths just off High Street in Perth from 9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. on the first Saturday of each month (and twice in December).  So we grabbed our re-usable grocery bags (which are needed here) and set out to beat the midday rush.  There are about 30 canopies along King Edward Street, few enough that we can stroll by each one and then go back to our favorites.  And that is just what we did.

Seafood

The seafood table had cooked lobster, crab, and fresh salmon. Haddock and sole were the top sellers. The was the busiest booth at the Market.

Jellies

This fellow’s apron reads ‘I Love Hot Pepper Jelly.’ As it turns out, so do I, so I got some. The back label reads ‘After opening store near your plate.’ I love that!

Beer

Paul, the beer guy from St. Andrews told us his company was owned by an American who came to St. Andrews to play golf.  When he asked what the local beer was, he was told there wasn’t any.  So he funded a brewery.  His name is Peter Coors.  After sampling a few I bought some to take home.

Breads

These breads were amazing.  We bought loaves of whole grain sourdough and hazelnut bran. We also got some scones and some of that cake you see in front.

Cheeses

Let’s see, we bought ginger cheddar, cranberry cheddar, grilled onion cheddar and cheddar with chives.  Do you see a pattern here?  She got us with the samples!

Berries

Fresh berries are still in season, so we got some raspberries.

Candyman

Homemade candies – what do you think?

Food Booth1

We could have eaten at the Market, but we had already purchased enough.  We saw much more, too.  The people were open and friendly.  They even seemed to like our “American accents.”  Hmm – I never knew I had an accent. 

31 comments on “The Perth Saturday Market

  1. Claire says:

    Love this post! Felt like I too had a mini weekend vacation.

  2. dfrantz1953 says:

    Well done! You are painting a lovely picture of Scotland! I can’t wait to visit!

  3. blade3colorado says:

    Chuckling to myself about the reference to Coors. In my younger days, myself and friends referred to Coors beer as “piss beer.” Moot point now, since I haven’t drank for decades. Grin. Fabulous photos Mike!

    • Mike Lince says:

      In Washington we made similar reference to Olympia beer. Of course, the real stuff is made in micro-breweries everywhere nowadays. Thanks, Steve.

      • blade3colorado says:

        When I was in the Air National Guard, we spent our summer camp at McChord AFB and while there, visited the Olympia brewery. If I recall correctly, there is a small park with picnic benches below the brewery and a water falls (not certain about this part). After the tour, we (about 6 of us) drank a case of their beer and played Frisbee. Beer wasn’t too bad at all. The other hi-light of this trip was seeing the first Alien movie. All of us had no idea what to expect (first night it was out Tacoma) and it scared the living hell out of us. 🙂

      • Mike Lince says:

        The falls you recall right outside of the brewery are called Tumwater Falls. There is a fish ladder across the river from the brewery, which has been closed for over ten years now. Downstream where the Deschutes R. empties into Capitol Lake is a park and picnic area also. I lived a few blocks from the falls when my ex and I split up. I used to jog by there every morning before work. Nice memories! (And Alien scared the hell out of me, too!)

  4. blade3colorado says:

    By the by, I was also introduced to the concept of “farmer’s markets” when I was stationed in RAF Mildenhall (sp?) back in the mid 1970s. I would often visit the Bury St. Edmunds Saturday market in the main square. There were a few others in East Anglia I visited as well. Great way to spend a day.

    • Mike Lince says:

      The markets are seemingly everywhere now. We love attending them and we always prefer to spend our money with the local growers and craftsmen when we have that opportunity. Thanks for the comments, Steve.

  5. reocochran says:

    Oh, I would like the pepper jelly, the baked goods, not the beer (though I do like a lemonade shanty summer beer…), I would also want a lot of cheese samples, grilled onion cheddar sounds delicious, raspberries and fish, too. I always want to have a little chocolate maybe while I were reading a book from your collection! We have a town or farmer’s market every Wed. and Sat. Wed evening and Sat. mornings are fun to go along and check out the varieties of local produce, cheeses made from goat’s or cow’s milk, and I like to sometimes splurge on a bouquet of flowers, usually about $3. Nice to have in a vase on the table. Not sure if I mentioned my youngest “chick” is leaving the nest, last time it was for 2 years in Louisville, KY, this time Victorian Village in Columbus with a female roommate. I will miss her. Not good timing since I just had the little “break up” on Sat. evening, but there will be silence and contemplative moments. And, my favorite t.v. shows!

    • Mike Lince says:

      From everything you shared I believe it would be fair to say you would love it here…except we have no television. We are getting in a fair amount of reading though. 🙂

      • reocochran says:

        I read James Patterson, Janet Evanovich, Debbie Macomber and reread more classic tales, like “Sense and Sensibility” and “Jane Eyre.” I like historical fiction and also, newspapers and magazines. I would consider it a nice “break” although here, I do watch t.v. and last night I was organizing, to my horror, 2012 pictures to go into 6 separate photo albums. I am way behind!

  6. Pat Ackerman says:

    Mike it looks absolutely wonderful. Are you sure 6 months will be enough time?

    • Mike Lince says:

      Six months always seems longer than it really is, although we do end up missing stuff. Fortunately, one can drive across Scotland in four hours. Six months was not enough for Mexico.

  7. Pat Ackerman says:

    It reminds me to get out to the local Seattle markets.

  8. lauren says:

    5 for 2 (local!) beers?!? Such a great deal. I’m hoping you bought a few. At least!

    • Mike Lince says:

      Indeed I did. One beer was stored in a Scotch Whisky barrel, aptly called Whisky Barrel. I also got a 19th Brew and St. Andrews Blonde, the golf references being obvious.

  9. Piggletino says:

    Fresh berries, and beers, and candies! How I wish I too could be there! 🙂

    • Mike Lince says:

      Yes, and don’t forget the scones. They are a lot like biscuits, but somehow they taste better here. There is much here to appreciate and enjoy, and I am pleased to share what I can of the experience. – Mike

  10. Hey Mike! Looks like a wonderful market, but I don’t get why the seafood was the busiest booth – even when I ate meat I always hated seafood. I guess to each his own. And speaking of to each his own, “Hot Pepper Jelly” is another thing I’d avoid – haha!! Celeste 🙂

    • Mike Lince says:

      The UK is surrounded by water. Fishing has always been a way of life for many here. Fish ‘n’ chips are still the most popular food rivaling hamburgers and pizza.
      Just a teaspoon of hot pepper jelly mixed in with stir fry and rice is a nice touch without being too hot. I guess you will just have to take my word for it. It is always good to hear from you, Celeste. Thank you for commenting. – Mike

  11. Such happy faces… and now I’m hungry!

    • Mike Lince says:

      Haha – many of the vendors were happy to see me and Florence coming. We must have looked more like buyers than just lookers. We spent way too much, but it was all on good stuff!

  12. What a fabulous market Mike – you’ve got me drooling already. Between the various breads and cheeses with a raspberry chaser you’ve got a picnic fit for a King and Queen! I’m guessing that you and Florence will be regulars. 🙂 You are certainly painting an appealing portrait of Perth. ~Terri

    • Mike Lince says:

      ‘Quaint’ and ‘charming’ are two adjectives I would use to describe Perth. It has everything we need within easy walking distance. It is the perfect sized city for us. (They are quite proud of having been officially elevated from ‘town’ to ‘city’ status due to recently having surpassed the 50k mark in population.) – Mike

  13. syllabubsea says:

    What an interesting looking market. I went to school in a little village just outside Perth. I can see it has changed a lot in the intervening years. Marie

    • Mike Lince says:

      What was the name of your village? Is there something of interest there we might wish to explore?

      • syllabubsea says:

        The village is called Bridge of Earn – very pretty. I went to the convent there. We weren’t allowed out much so not sure what there is to explore. In my day you could attend mass at the school – a good way to see the beautiful house and grounds.

      • Mike Lince says:

        Yes – I have been by Bridge of Earn on our trips back and forth between Perth and Kinross. We shall have to stop there one of these days. 🙂

Leave a Reply

