You Say Potato, I say Patato

I would add to this story written by my wife, Florence, that I love the hot, spicy salsas and curries that leave a glow in the palate long after the last swallow. Mmm!

Reflections

Everyone loves good food and wine.  However not everyone agrees on what constitutes good food and wine.

I love white wine.  My husband prefers red.

I prefer to eat Vegan or Vegetarian when I have too, and my husband eats everything including meat dishes.

Some people think that food smothered in sauces, be them cream or red are the way to go.  I say yuck.  I want plain and simple food.  I want to be the one to add salt, pepper, or other alternative spices to my food.  I don’t for heavens sake want my dish smothered in mayonnaise which is very common for some reason in a lot of the Latin American countries.  We are still trying to wrap our heads around that one.

The best overall wine I have tasted in all my years of travel came from Uruguay.  The best white wine I’ve tasted came from a…

View original post 323 more words

This entry was posted in Travel.

2 comments on “You Say Potato, I say Patato

  1. reocochran says:

    I like my foods to be flavored and do enjoy sauces, too! I have changed my palate as I have grown older, to include more spicy foods! Smiles, Robin

    • Mike Lince says:

      Maybe my taste buds are dying off because as I get older I like my food spicier. When I see those little red peppers lined up next to items on the menu, I typical order the hottest ones. I know people think I am crazy, especially Florence. I cannot help it. I love that feeling when I am done with a bite of food and my mouth and lips are still glowing. Lots of people describe that as being ‘on fire’, but I do not. I FEEL the flavor of the hot spices and I love that feeling – not every day, but I miss it if a week or more goes by without spicy food. That’s why I always keep hot sauces in stock. – Mike

Leave a Reply

