How Old Is the Ice in Your Drink

We have come a long way in the past 2 years. Here is a fresh look back through the eyes of my wife and travel partner.

Reflections

We have had some amazing travel adventures thus far as The 6 Monthers.  We have been to four continents, over a dozen countries, we have met some special people and seen things of such beauty that it is hard to imagine that we could find anything to rival it and yet, as we have kept traveling we have seen more beauty in different places and wondered at what we will see next.

Glacier Grey Glacier Grey © Photo by Florence Ricchiazzi Lince

One of these experiences came long before either of us was blogging.   On a cold and dreary winter morning we took a magical trip to visit Glacier Grey in Torres del Paine National park in Chile.  Getting to visit this region of Patagonia was one of Mike’s long time dreams and the vistas of the mountain peaks and the glaciers did not disappoint.  However it wasn’t the park that…

View original post 586 more words

This entry was posted in Travel.

6 comments on “How Old Is the Ice in Your Drink

  1. reocochran says:

    I am so glad that you had this link over to Florence’s great post about ice that is a part of our world’s ancient history. I enjoyed the view of the beautiful scenery where you visited in your dream place of Patagonia. I think the idea of capturing a few chunks of this ice, adding a beverage would be a delightful way to enjoy being in such an awesome environment. Cheers to you both! Clinking my lemon iced tea, raising a glass to you, both! Smiles, Robin

    • Mike Lince says:

      I like to share Florence’s perspective on things because she shares a different perspective. I wrote about the ancient ice cubes back in October, 2012, when I referred to the tinkling ice cubes as God’s Wind Chimes, which is what they sounded like. The thing that impressed my analytical mind about the ice was that it had been formed and then compressed under so much pressure that there were no flaws or bubbles in the ice. The ice cubes were as clear and solid as crystal glass.
      Cheers, Robin! – MIke

      • reocochran says:

        I don’t think I check on your posts too often before we got acquainted. I should read more of them! I am so glad you pointed out about the way the ice was formed, that it is so perfect, like a crystal! I would like to drink a beverage with such lovely pieces! It would be so much nicer than the cloudy ones I have in my freezer! I like the imagery that God’s Wind Chimes evokes. The power of good word usage is in your way of writing and expressing yourself, Mike!

      • Mike Lince says:

        Thank you for sharing your encouraging thoughts. I have been in a slump recently, and I need to think about writing in a new direction. I like how you write without being constrained by the title of your blog and how you let us get to know you in many ways – co-worker, friend, parent, grandparent, daughter, etc. – Mike

  2. Judy says:

    I LOVE traveling with you both! Your four eyes and ears see and hear so much more than just one person can ever hope to. In the words of an old poet “Keep-a going” I love it!!

Leave a Reply

