There is Nothing Like Home Cooking

The historic Perth Theatre is just down the street from our flat.

The historic Perth Theatre is just down the street from our flat.

A look up the spiral staircase three stories to our apartment

A look up the spiral staircase three stories to our apartment entry

Now that we have our own kitchen, I have begun preparing meals at home. Celeste, if you read this, I want you to know that I am working on a plant-based diet, although I have not given up eggs and cheese. That may come as I find more sources where I can purchase the ingredients I need. I will also be reading the vegetarian and vegan blogs for more ideas. There are mouth watering recipes posted daily, and I look forward to trying lots of them.

A mixture of fresh vegetables served over a bed of basmati rice

A mixture of fresh vegetables served over a bed of basmati rice

Last night’s dinner was a stir fry. We found green, yellow and red bell peppers which added appealing color to the dish. I added zucchini, onion and snap peas plus a fresh mix that included bean sprouts. Stir-fry has to be the easiest veggie dish in the world, and it cooks quickly. The only thing missing was some cashews or sliced almonds to add some texture and flavor. You should not be surprised to learn I added some jalapeño peppers to my serving to spice it up.

Window Shopping

We good shoppers put together our own little library for under $20.

We good shoppers put together our own little library for under $20.

Our casual walks through Perth have revealed some treasures we overlooked previously. We found a frozen food store, Farm Foods, which also offers fresh foods during the growing season. We also found some used books bookstores. This is important to us since we do not have a television. We visited Thornton’s, a UK-based chocolatier, and we picked up a couple of handmade chocolate creams for 50 cents apiece. We checked out the Perth Theatre just down the block from us, the perfect venue for some live entertainment in the weeks ahead. We have a bit more exploring to do. There is supposedly a branch library within a couple of blocks of our apartment, and there is still the Performance Center and cinema to check out.

The historic steam train through Scotland's West Highlands Photo credit: visitscotland.com

The historic steam train through Scotland’s West Highlands
Photo credit: visitscotland.com

I am currently looking over the train schedules to plan our trip along the west coast aboard the historic steam train that goes over a picturesque bridge featured in the Harry Potter movies. Like everything in Perth, the train and bus stations are about six blocks away, and where the trains do not go, the buses do.  There is much yet to see and do.

I look forward to our daily walks.  I look forward to finishing another book and starting a new one.  And I look forward to writing whatever my next story will be.

Cheers from Scotland!

15 comments on “There is Nothing Like Home Cooking

  1. reocochran says:

    Oh, how I love this post today! I enjoyed the photos of your meal, the spiral stairway and also, the one that you found of the train. It does seem like out of Harry Potter! I happen to like several of your books, too bad you are not my neighbor, we could exchange some! Also, glad that you are fitting into your new location. I like the way it all sounds, last but not least, the dessert of chocolate creams, yummy!

    • Mike Lince says:

      Haha – it would seem we have much more in common than just being ‘blog buddies.’ Hopefully, I am painting an appealing picture of life in Scotland. It really is comfortable here. As always, I appreciate your comments, Robin.

  2. bonappecait says:

    Good luck with the plant based diet!

  3. Lauren says:

    I love your pictures! My mother’s family was originally from Scotland (a long, long time ago but still :)) so I hope to someday visit the origin of my family. I’ve definitely decided to go vegetarian, but I think initially I’m going to be a lacto-vegetarian, as it’s too daunting to think about giving up dairy right now. I’m going to try the stir-fry you mentioned, it sounds yummy! cheers to you. 🙂

    • Mike Lince says:

      Your thinking and mine are closely aligned – about a plant-based diet and about Scotland. My wife and I decided on Scotland for two reasons: neither of us had ever been here (she had visited Ireland years ago), and they speak English (well, sort of). As for the diet, I also am not ready to give up on dairy, eggs and cheese in particular. Thank you for cheery comments. – Mike

  4. Dinner looks really good, and I totally recommend the Game of Thrones series for your library; they’ll keep you totally intrigued for ages! Harry Potter bridge, like wow! Your travels just get better and better Mike!

    • Mike Lince says:

      I have been looking at the Game of Thrones series. I appreciate your recommendation. It would sure keep me occupied for awhile – each of those volumes are huge tomes! Thank you for following along, Dawn.

  5. Hey Mike! I’m just catching up with reading the posts you wrote while I was on vacation, and I was tickled to see my name in this one. I promise you that I won’t be your plant-based Nazi judging every bite of cheese you eat. I am, however; happy that you are doing your best to eat plant-based. Paul and I didn’t do it 100% at first either, so maybe one day you’ll come around. That stir fry looks delish! Celeste 🙂

    • Mike Lince says:

      I was wondering when you might stumble across your name. I just wanted you to know that even though we are far away you are near and dear to us in our thoughts. Thank you for your support and kind words. – Mike

  6. Mike, It seems like you’re settling in nicely. You know it’s home when you can start doing some cooking. 🙂 And just like you, we always enjoy setting up our own little library. ~Terri

Leave a comment